The Big Reveal

Well it’s officially Sunday, which means that tomorrow is the big “reveal” – Cantilever Design’s Norfolk Road project will be announced as Metropolitan Home Magazine’s Home of Year 2009, Grand Prize winner!

It was only late last November that I found out about the contest from browsing my personal subscription of Met Home. Without much thought, I decided to enter the contest since I already had some nice images shot for my portfolio.

I have to stop and give kudos to my photographer, Jason Predock (www.jasonpredock.com). If that names sounds vaguely familiar, yes, it’s because his dad is THE architect Antoine Predock. When I found Jason I could not believe what a small world the world of design, architecture, et al was. I have no doubt that the quality of my pictures helped me win the award.

Back to my story… so I rounded up my best images and wrote up a 500 word submission about why my house deserved to be “home of the year.” In that instance, my years of professional marketing and communications experience came in handy as I think I crafted a nice “story” – that my house was my interpretation of the “new, modern family home.” I wrote that I wanted “a house that could host cocktail parties as easily as it could host slumber parties, a house that felt warm enough for my family but “cool” enough for our guests.” I talked about how I designed a house that had to mix high-design and high-function because of the practical and day to day requirements of the layout and our family.

Over the course of about two nights, I put together my submission and pressed the send key the day before submissions were due. According to the website, the magazine was supposed to announce the winners by December 20th. So when that day came and went, I resigned myself to the fact that the award would not be my Christmas present for 2008. I was mildly bummed but in a way didn’t really think I could win anyways.

Then one day, four weeks later, I got an email in my Hotmail entitled “Met Home of the Year” from Samantha Nestor, Special Projects Editor at Met Home.  Sam’s email was short and too the point – so much so that I swore it was a hoax from an evil, evil friend. My utter disbelief and amazement was only cut when a colleague of mine suggested that I call her to confirm the news. Although it was almost 7pm EST, Sam amazingly picked up the phone and confirmed the unbelievable news. That was when I knew it was really true.

Since that afternoon, I’ve traded numerous emails with Sam to get more details about the win and help with her article.  Each time there’s a part of me waiting for her to tell me the “catch” or the bad news; when she takes a few days to get back to me I always get nervous lol. But today, after all this, I think it’s really going to finally happen. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

About Cantilever Design

Designs for Modern Luxury is a blog by Karman Ng, principal of Cantilever Design, an award-winning interior design firm located in the San Francisco Bay Area. Always reading, researching and reveling in “the best of design” for himself and his clients, Karman began his blog as a way to share his thoughts and finds-from furniture to fashion to food. Karman hopes his blog fosters dialogue and sharing of design-related products, news, tips, ideas and secrets so that everyone can enjoy a little bit more modern luxury in their lives. For more information about Cantilever Design, visit http:///www.cantilever-design.com or follow Karman at http://twitter.com/karmanng.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Big Reveal

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

