Cool Design for a Penny

blog_TheStandardNewYork_Exterior_LowRez_072909

So before word leaks out to Andre Balazs, another idol of mine, that I spoke poorly of his hotel in my blog, since his people and my people are that tight, I had a write another post about how GREAT his latest hotel is, The Standard Hotel, New York (for the record, in my previous post, I only meant to say that new hotels like Motel 6 are starting to get pretty design savvy compared to older boutique hotels like The Standard Hotel, Hollywood, which was a pioneer and today no longer looks as upscale and fresh as it once did… yikes).

I could EASILY write a small novel about this new hotel, whether the mid-century-influenced exterior, the High Line-influenced lobby, the rooms, the High Line itself, etc.  But since I haven’t visited yet myself and since I don’t have time to write a small novel, I wanted to share just one small detail today that I love…

ideas_floors_pennies_7-2-penny-tile-1

In the Standard Grill, the “casual” restaurant on the property, they made some of their floors using pennies!  I love these floors on so many levels: the rich, warm color; the textured, uneven appearance, the vintage, bistro quality; the recycled/renewable concept of it.

ideas_floors_pennies_7-2-penny-tile-2

Copper is a great material to design with but it’s very expensive these days.  How smart is it to use the least expensive raw material you can buy and transform it into something so chic and expensive-looking (note, I say raw material specifically because turning pennies into a floor like this requires a TON of labor that no longer makes it inexpensive – sorry to be the party pooper)?  Nevertheless, I love the creativity and think these floors perfectly embody the Standard Hotel brand: innovative, whimsical, and chic.

But before I sign off, here’s a few more pictures of the rest of the hotel to drool over… Again, my apologies Andres – call me 😉

blog_TheStandardNewYork_WestView_LowRez_072909blog_TheStandardNewYork_Lobby_LowRez_072909blog_TheStandardNewYork_Elevators_LowRez_072909

About Cantilever Design

Designs for Modern Luxury is a blog by Karman Ng, principal of Cantilever Design, an award-winning interior design firm located in the San Francisco Bay Area. Always reading, researching and reveling in “the best of design” for himself and his clients, Karman began his blog as a way to share his thoughts and finds-from furniture to fashion to food. Karman hopes his blog fosters dialogue and sharing of design-related products, news, tips, ideas and secrets so that everyone can enjoy a little bit more modern luxury in their lives. For more information about Cantilever Design, visit http:///www.cantilever-design.com or follow Karman at http://twitter.com/karmanng.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

